Seeking What You Cannot Have Forever

Artwork Description

Buddha once said there are seven sufferings in life: birth, ageing, sickness, death, grief, separation from the loved ones, and wanting the things you cannot have. Among all these, birth, ageing and sickness are natural and unavoidable sufferings, while separation and the desire of what you cannot have are psychological experiences that reflect the imperfections and unbalances in our lives. Most importantly, all those misfortunes befall human beings because of one main reason: our constant will for things we cannot get or cannot keep forever. If one gets free from their desires, they also get free from the pain of pursuing them and not being able to reach them.

He Xianrui

Female China 1997

City of birth Chongqing

Now lives & works in Beijing

Techniques used Photoshop

Published/Unpublished Not published